In this article you will learn what categories, workspaces and rights are in presono and how to manage them!
Categories provide a way to store content in a structured way. Thematically related content is easy to find.
In the content structure you can filter according to your categories to get only results from the desired thematic areas.
When saving or uploading a new content you can select as many categories as you want. A content can therefore be found across several categories and is not, as for example in a folder, only in one place.
In order to be able to store content flexibly, categories can be nested, too. A category can have further subcategories, which can divide the thematic structuring more in depth. An example:
You are working on a presentation about healthy nutrition and would like to store content about fruits. In the settings you create the following categories to be able to structure your photos and slides:
If you now filter for fruit, you will get all the content from apple, pear, banana and orange. If you only filter by banana you will only get content that has exactly the category banana.
In order to create new categories, you have to go to the settings and select the menu item "Categories". There you can create, delete and move categories. Click on the category in which you want to create a new category and then on the button "Add new category" in the desired level. Alternatively, you can also add a new category to the currently opened level by clicking on "New" in the upper right corner.
Now a dialog window opens in which you should give your category a name. Optionally you can choose the option, that the category can only be used within a certain workspace. This category then only appears for users who are also members of this workspace. Find more information about workspaces in the following.
Workspaces are used in order to to better organize the collaboration in presono. All content stored in a workspace can only be viewed, edited or used by users who are also members of the workspace.
In contrast to categories, which are just responsible for thematic structuring, content can only be stored in exactly one workspace and not in several at the same time. This allows you to keep control of who has access to your new content.
In order to being able to control exactly this access, members can be assigned to each workspace. Users can be added to a workspace either individually or as a group.
So users can also work in several workspaces. But what exactly the users are allowed to do in each workspace is explained in the next section:
Workspace Roles & Permissions
A group or user that is added to a workspace gets a certain role in that workspace. This role defines what the user may and may not do in this workspace.
The following roles are predefined:
- Administrator: The highest role is allowed to view, edit, create and delete everything in the workspace. He is also allowed to manage the workspace and its members, share sessions and presentations, view sessions and analytics of the workspace members.
- Presenter: The presenter should mainly be able to present content but not edit it. Therefore he may only view slides, media and documents and edit and create presentations. Template sets and templates are not visible for this role. The sharing and viewing of sessions from the workspace is allowed.
- Creator: The creator may create but not delete all content types, manage the workspaces and share presentations.
- Analyst: The analyst may view all content but may not edit or create anything. Sessions and analytics of the workspace are visible.
If you also need a different role, you can create your own permissions. If you choose the role "Custom Rights", you can move the sliders for the rights individually and create your own role.
The following content types can be controlled individually:
- Template sets
At the very bottom of the screen are the lowest rights and these build up further and further towards the top. The following is an example using the slider for slides:
- If a user does not have access rights to slides, no slides will not appear in the content structure - the user has no access rights.
- If a user has reading rights to slides, it appears in the user's content structure and he can use the slides in his own presentations. However, he is not allowed to edit the slides, create his own slides or delete existing slides in this workspace.
- If the slider is set to "edit", the user can see and edit all slides in this workspace. However, he/she still cannot create new slides of his/her own and cannot delete existing slides.
- If the slider is set to "create", the user can see and edit all existing slides. In addition, he may also create his own new slides based on templates (please note that the slider for Template Sets must at least be set to "see" - otherwise the user will not see any templates and therefore cannot use them).
- The highest right in presono is the right to delete. Because of the central administration of slides and other elements in presono, this is the highest level of permission.
In addition, you can assign usage rights (6) for the workspace. The following settings are possible:
- Manage workspaces: this allows the user group to manage the workspace and sub-workspaces, e.g. change rights or add/remove users. This right also allows the user to edit the categories attached to the workspace.
- Allow sharing: this allows you to (de)activate the sharing of presentations and sessions from this workspace
- See analytics: the user group can then see all analytics of the group of presentations in the corresponding workspace
- See sessions: the user group can then see all sessions of the group of presentations in the corresponding workspace
With these roles and permissions, you can allow and deny users certain accesses and functions in certain workspaces. More information about workspaces and roles can be found here: Manage Workspaces
In addition to these permissions, there are other permissions that control general functions in presono. These are not assigned to workspaces but also to groups.
Why user groups? Groups combine several users in order to make the administration of rights easier. Thus, the rights for several users can be set up at the same time and do not have to be managed individually for each user. Access rights to content in the workspaces as well as general rights to various presono functions can be controlled.
You can assign global rights to each group individually in presono. These rights control access to the following parts of presono:
- Settings Management:
Manage all Groups, Users & Workspaces: the user group can manage all users, groups and workspaces
Categories: this allows the user group to edit the global categories. If categories are attached to a workspace, the users need the "Manage workspace" right.
Languages: the globally available languages can be edited. For example, new languages can be created, which can then be used globally for the translation of slides
Configurations: this allows the global configurations to be enabled for the user group in the settings area of the tool
Account: this allows the user group to access the account settings (e.g. payment information)
Create Workspace: this allows the user group to create their own workspaces
- Enable advanced features
Group notifications: this allows this user group to send group messages to the entire group. More about it here: Manage notifications & messages
See all analytics: with this right the group can see all analytics not only of itself but also of the corresponding user group
See all sessions: this allows the group to see all sessions of the group and not only their own
Customize layouts: this unlocks the feature where the layout for a slide can be customized. The slide is then decoupled from the central template administration and a completely individualized layout is created, which is only valid for this slide
If a user is in more than one group, the higher assignment of rights takes effect, e.g. if the user is assigned read-only rights to a workspace by user group A, but has write rights by user group B, then the write rights take effect. More information about groups and rights can be found here: Manage rights & groups
You might also be interested in: