This article explains everything that has to do with slides! All possibilities and steps are explained in detail.
This article contains some features that are not included in all packages. More info on this on our pricing page.
Slides, like all other content in presono, can be created in the content structure. Click on "New" (1) in and then "Create new slide" (2). You can also open a template set and click on "New" and then "Create new slide".
First you have to choose a template set (1). Once you have decided on a template set, you choose a layout (2) from this set. If several backgrounds are linked to a layout, a selection with all possible combinations will open when you choose the layout. Decide on a variant to start filling the slides. More about template sets can be found here: What is a template set?
By clicking on a layout, it will be selected so you can start to fill the slide with content.
Customizing the Editor View
In the right bar you can adjust the size of the slide using the zoom option (1). Here you can enlarge the slide to select very small fields. Either the value can be entered manually, the arrows on the right can be clicked or dragged, or the value can be enlarged or reduced by scrolling as soon as the mouse is over the field. With the symbol next to the zoom options, the slide can be scaled back to its original size (2). If you select an area on your slide, it will be placed over all other areas of your slide so that you can see the entire area during filling. You can deactivate this function at any time by clicking on "Highlight selection" (3). If you click on "Preview" (4), all guide and grid lines are hidden and effects are displayed.
Layers in your slides
At the bottom right you can see all levels on your slide that can be filled with content. You can either click on the layers on the right in the list, or you can click on the area on the slide. The order of the layers also gives an indication of how the areas are arranged or stacked.
Filling with content
The icons in the slide indicate which content is allowed in an area. You can either click directly on the icon in the slide (1) or select the area and click on the icons at the top of the toolbar (2). In the toolbar all icons are visible. If you select an area, you will see what content is allowed here. If some icons are grayed out, this content is not allowed here.
If you have inserted a content, for example an image specific options (1) appear for this content type. To delete the content, click on the trash can icon (2).
Find out more about what content can be inserted and how to customize it here: Various contents in slides
Using the Clipboard
If required, the clipboard can be used for the contents already inserted in the slide. By clicking the arrow above the editing area of the slide, the clipboard opens. You can put content to the clipboard by clicking on "Move section to clipboard".
The content in the clipboard can then be inserted in an other area or deleted if required. Please note that content from the clipboard can only be moved to those areas where this type of content is allowed. To place content from the clipboard into an area, first select an area. Then click on the paste icon next to the content.
The clipboard can be emptied either by deleting the individual contents separately or simultaneously by clicking on the trash icon next to the individual contents or by clicking on "clear clipboard". All contents in the clipboard are saved with the slide, which means that if you close and reopen the slide, the contents in the clipboard are still available.
Select another template
If you want to change your template or template set, select a new one in the upper left corner.
When you select a new template, all content is automatically moved to the clipboard. You can now move all content back to the individual areas.
Changing the template
If you only want to make small changes to the slide you are working on, you can customize the template. Click on "Layout" in the upper right corner under "Switch edit mode". If you continue switching to the layout mode, you will create a new, individual template. This means that you completely decouple the template from the actual layout. So if you change something on the original template you chose at the beginning, this change will not be applied to your slide.
After confirming your decison, you enter the layout editing mode. Here you can move, add or change areas just like in the normal layout creation/editing. The only difference to the normal layout editor is that you don't have to assign permissions for individual areas. You don't have to make any more settings per area, since you can now edit your template and the slide at the same time anyway.
Saving the slide
When you finished creating with your slide, click on the save icon in the upper right corner. A saving menu will open where you can name the slide (1), choose the desired workspace (2) and categories (3). Then you can click on "Save" (4).
If you want to rename or save your slide afterwards, you can simply click on the three dots next to the save icon and change names and/or categories.
Metadata of a slide
Each slide has metadata in which certain information concerning the slides is stored. This information can be accessed by clicking on the information icon.
Here you can find information about who (1) created the slide when it was created and when it was last changed and by whom (2).
In addition, the workspace and the categories (3) of the slide are displayed. These are particularly helpful if a user only has read rights to a slide and therefore cannot access the save menu.
The templates used are also listed here. There is always a background template (4) and a layout template (5). You can click on the templates and switch to template editing.
The person responsible for the slide can also be found out (6) and changed (7) here. The creator of the slide is automatically set as responsible if no other person has been before. This person or group of persons in charge then receives notifications if the slide is changed by another user. Find out more about notifications here: Manage Notifications & Messages
The slide can also be marked as confidential (8). This means that the slide remains in the system and does not leave the system with a session, PDF or split presentation.
At the end you can see the ID of the slide (9). This ID is individual for this slide and also appears in the URL bar when the slide is open.
You might also be interested in:
Why can't I delete/move/copy the areas on my slide?
In presono the template defines how a slide should look like. Only one template is selected in the slide and the content is inserted. So if you want to change the appearance of the content in the slide, you have to switch to the template. More information here: Create Layout Templates , Create Background Templates